My Review on “Watermelon” by Marian Keyes

war=termelonHey friends! It feels good to be back blogging after a long time. Finally, I can sit near the window, with the laptop thinking about what to write, with breeze pushing my hair all over my face. It really feels amazing to sit and write on a super breezy monsoon evening. After such a long time, you can enjoy the weather without sweating. With the heat reaching new heights this year, I could do nothing I love, be it reading, be it writing. It took me about 2 months to finish this book, Watermelon. Yeah, it is one of my ways of justifying my laziness… So, this post is about the review of this book.

Watermelon is a funny book. It tickles your bones to the core. This is the first book of the author I ever tried reading, but believe me, I enjoyed it. It is a story about Claire. She has just given birth to the beautiful baby girl and her husband announces that he’s leaving her as he has been having an affair with a lady called Denise from their building. She is all heart broken and she decides to leave London and heads to Dublin where her parents and sisters live. In the beginning, she is all heart broken and depressed. She keeps to herself and her room. She is bribing her sisters to get drinks for her. She is always sprawling on her bed and crying over what happened to her.

Her dad walks into her room one day and advises her to hold herself together and come out of it. That is when she realises how stupid she has been, all the while. She decides to help herself and come out of it. She starts going out. She enjoys shopping with her baby. She starts going out more often, sometimes alone, when her mom minds her child Kate for her.

Enter sister’s classmate Adam!! She fantasizes him, though he is about 5 years younger than her. He also has a soft corner for her. They start meeting at Cafes and the Gym. He feels guilty about it, but then she realises that she is not having any affair but just enjoying, unlike her husband James. When things between her and Adams is turning out to be much more than just fantasies, James comes to Dublin. He wants Claire back in his life.

Does he genuinely want her or is it something more to it? What conditions does he strap her with, to get her back to him!

To know more about it, you must read this book. It is hilarious beyond belief.  I was reading the book for so long that I wanted to quit reading it at one point, but I am glad I did not do that. It is a big book with about 600 odd pages, but if you are free and can afford to read about 2-3 hours daily, you will be able to finish it by 4-5 days.

I hope you guys enjoy reading this funny book.

Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

