Cabbage-Potato-Peas Sabzi: My Delicacy on a Fantastic Friday

DSC_0823Hi friends.. Winter is here! I know, I sound very excited because the weather was getting a bit too warm back here at Mumbai. Being from Mysore, my only complaint was – why isn’t winter here yet when it’s already December. Now that winter is here, all of you make sure you enjoy the weather to the fullest as you never know when will get warmer again. You might get confused seeing the post headline. It isn’t Friday yet. This post pertains to what I did last Friday. I was too busy to get back here and post. So, I’m here now with my last week’s delicacy. This is once again a lunch box recipe – a quick recipe. Not much effort required. This bhaji has a touch of delicious taste because of the ingredients that go into it, thus making people who hate cabbage eat it relishing it. When my husband was given cabbage bhaji last time, he wasn’t that happy because of the bland taste of the bhaji. So this time, my idea was to give cabbage a new and interesting taste. I kept browsing on various sites and found this recipe. I made a little variation as per our taste. But I must say, it is worth the try. I’m so glad that my husband liked the bhaji and was surprised to know how the taste of cabbage changes when it is fried rather than boiled. Without wasting time let’s rush and see how the healthy and delicious Cabbage-Potato-Peas Sabzi is made.

Ingredients

3 cups Cabbage shredded
1 cup Potato
¾ cup green peas
2 green chilies – finely chopped
¾ tsp Hing
1 tsp Turmeric Powder
1 ½ tsp Red Chili Powder
1 tsp Cumin Seeds
1 tsp Mustard Seeds
½ tsp Amchur Powder
1 tbsp Curry leaves
A pinch of Garam Masala Powder (very little, just for the flavor)
Oil as per requirement – I used 1 tbsp
Salt as per requirement

Method
o Heat Oil in a pan. Add mustard seeds to it and let it crackle.
o Add the cumin seeds and wait for a minute until the color changes slightly.
o Add in the chopped green chilies and fry for a minute.
o Add in the curry leaves and fry for a while.
o Add in the hing and fry. Be very careful at this stage; do not let the hing burn.
o Add turmeric powder and amchur powder.
o Now add in the shredded cabbage, potatoes and green peas and mix well.
o Now add the red chili powder, garam masala powder and salt and again mix well.
o Make sure you keep tossing the bhaji while it is on heat every 5 minutes.

Your healthy delicious Cabbage-Potato-Peas Bhaji is ready to serve with rotis.

Try it out without fail as it hardly takes 25-30 minutes of your time. This sabzi doesn’t consume any water. I didn’t add even a drop of water. That is the reason why the cabbage remains crisp. All the vegetables in the bhaji remain crunchy and thus, it has a refreshing taste when one is bored of the boiled taste of the vegetables. It is as well healthy because the amount of oil that goes into it is very minimal.

Hope you enjoy the recipe!

Cheers!!!

2 thoughts on “Cabbage-Potato-Peas Sabzi: My Delicacy on a Fantastic Friday

  1. Excellent recipe, Vaishnavi! I have half a head of boring cabbage waiting for redemption :). I usually add peas but this time I’ll thrown in a few cubes of potatoes too. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

