A Walk at Night on Marine Drive

IMG-20141121-WA0004Hi friends! Hope everything is going great at your end. Over the past few months I have been writing (quite irregularly, I know) about a variety of things rather than the monotonous book reviews. Out of the variety of topics, one of the topics I would love build upon is my Mumbai Diaries. I would love to develop my writing mainly on this topic because it is something which comes straight from my experience of seeing the different places of Mumbai. It is an out of the world experience for me as I am from Mysore, the city known for its pleasant weather and the silence (of course, with all cities being developed, Mysore is also not left behind. It is not that silent as it used to be. But when compared to Mumbai, yes, it is!). This piece of My Space would be much more useful for people who visit (or plan to visit) Mumbai for the first time. Last time, My Mumbai Diaries post was out and out for girls/women, with shopping as the theme! This time it is completely different.
The first time I came to Mumbai was after my marriage. I knew about the city and was told by everyone that it is completely different from Mysore and I also agree that it is. Every city has its own charm. The traffic here always baffled me initially. Now I am so used to it that I don’t get surprised anymore if I find some 100 cars stranded on the road at 12 am. Out of the many places I have visited at Mumbai, one of my favorites is the Marine Drive (I mean, how can it not be anybody’s favorite). My husband took me to Marine Drive for the first time at around 7 in the morning, a week after our wedding. I could see the place buzz with morning activities. That didn’t surprise me that time. It was like any other place for me. However, I just liked the place for its scenic beauty, the calmness and the breeze that occasionally brushes across your face. After that visit, I’ve never again been there to sit and enjoy the morning breeze, but have gone past it many times (I have lost count of it). I was never aware of the night time atmosphere of the Marine Drive until recently, when I saw it and was really surprised. We started going for a night time walk at Marine Drive once in a while. That is, when I observed a lot of things.
IMG-20141121-WA0003What can I say about my observations! First time, when I went there at night, I didn’t get surprised because we walked for a bit and just sat to enjoy the cool breeze. I saw a lot of people sitting by the side and relaxing. I could see people of all age groups enjoying and relaxing at the same time. It was like any other place for you – one could see couples (both young and old), families, friends and small children – all at 10 at night. My next visit was the one I was completely surprised about. Whilst we were walking I could see a lot of people enjoying as always. But as we started walking further and further I could see vendors selling small light snacks. What is unusual about it, one might ask! Nothing is unusual but the business idea of a small street vendor teaches a lot. In the dark it is obvious that nobody would be able to see what the vendor is selling. So the guy had a small LED light falling directly on his snack items that were for sale. It might not be new to people here, but for me it was a different sight altogether. I could see another vendor shouting ‘chai-coffee, chai- coffee’ at another end – all at 11.30 at night.
All of us in our family are crazy about movies. We usually end up going for late night shows on weekends. And on one such occasion when we were returning from the movie at 1.30 at night, I just couldn’t believe my eyes. I could see the same number of people sitting happily and chatting. Let alone the people, I could see small children playing there, while the families enjoyed the night out. As if that wasn’t enough for me, my next visit again surprised me. I saw a vendor cycling his way through selling ‘masala idli and sada idli’. I mean, the number of business opportunities this city offers, I don’t think any other place ever offers.
Seeing the variety of things happen at different points at this place really cheers me up for some reason. According to me it is the best place to just go relax and chill after a long day. There is a lot effort behind this very post of mine – bringing together the various observations over the past few months and compiling it into a post and also finding the apt pictures to post along with the post. The picture credits go solely to my husband. Thanks Mayur for the wonderful shots that go very well with my post!
With this I wish you very happy weekend. People at Mumbai, just take some time off and enjoy the weekend at Marine Drive.
Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

