Methi Pulao – My Delicacy on a Marvellous Monday

DSC_0014

Hello friends!! I’m a bit later than usual this time. The next few months I’ll be making guest appearances with posts as and when I find time. I know it’s not right to give excuses but 24 hours in a day seems very less nowadays. But I will make sure I come more often with more posts. This time I’m here with a recipe. This time I’m feeling very happy because I started it off as an experiment and I’m happy it turned out to be a yummy delicacy. I’m extra happy because always it so happens that my mom is around giving me tips and helping me out with stuffs, as I attempted the entire recipe without my mom around. She was out of station and I didn’t have any help what so ever to get tips on how much salt or water I need to add in. I was very confident that I’ll go wrong in salt, but at the end the result really surprised me and I was like yayyy! So without wasting time lets rush and see how to make a simple, yet, tasty Methi Pulao.

Ingredients

4 bunches of Methi Leaves (Fenugreek leaves)

1 inch cinnamon stick

1 cardamom

2-3 Cloves

4 Garlic flakes

1 green chilly

1 inch Ginger

1 Onion – sliced

A pinch of turmeric

1 cup uncooked rice (cleaned and soaked for about 30 minutes)

1 ½ tbsp Oil

Water as per requirement

Salt as per requirement

 

Method

o    Heat oil in a pan. Add in the spices (cinnamon, clove and cardamom). You can add the spices straight away or you can powder it and add in. I powdered it as the aroma is something different when the spices are crushed.

o    Add in the ginger – garlic – chilly paste and fry until the raw smell fades.

o    Add the chopped onions and fry until transparent. Add salt at this stage.

o    Add the methi leaves and fry well.

o    Add a pinch of turmeric powder.

o    Add in the uncooked rice and fry for a while.

o    Remove from heat

o    Add the above cooked ingredients in the cooker along with 3 cups of water and bring to boil.

Note: I use electric cooker to make pulao.

Isn’t it easy!!! Why don’t you try it out and let me know the result!

I Will catch with you’ll very soon.

Till then, Cheers!!!

 

Leave a Reply

