Rasam – My First South Indian Recipe

DSC_0019Hello friends!! It feels nice to get back here again. So how has the SUMMER been treating you all! It’s been too HOT.. I’m here today with a recipe. But this time it’s a South Indian recipe, an authentic one. It’s something different, though. Most of us are well aware of the red color rasam which we eat almost regularly. But this is one such recipe which is little different from the normal rasam recipe. This is my mom’s tested recipe. I remember having tried this quite a few times. I just felt I should make this rasam today. This is the first time ever I’m sharing a South Indian Recipe on My Space. Not that this is the first time I’m preparing a South Indian dish. I’ve been doing it since sometime. But I never got a chance to bring it up on my blog. When I got the opportunity today I didn’t want to let go of it. So I’m here with the recipe of a different kinda RASAM – South Indian Style!

Ingredients

1 cup Dal boiled

1 tbsp Coriander seeds

1 bunch Coriander leaves

1 tbsp Pepper corns (I put almost 20-25 peppercorns)

1 inch Ginger

Almost 1 ½ tbsp of grated coconut

1 tsp Turmeric powder

Salt as per taste

Water as per requirement

 

For the tadka

1 tsp Jeera (Cumin Seeds)

1 tbsp Ghee

 

For garnishing

Juice of 1 medium sized lemon

 

Method

–       Grind the coriander seeds, coriander leaves, peppercorns, ginger and coconut in the mixer with enough water to form a paste

–       Then add in the boiled dal to the same with requisite amount of water (water sufficient to make the mixture a fine paste) and grind it into a fine paste

–       Now strain the ground mixture – use water sufficient to make the rasam’s consistency medium – neither too thick nor too runny

–       Now bring the strained mixture to boil by adding turmeric and salt to it

–       Remove from flame and add the tadka

–       Sprinkle the lemon juice over it and serve hot

 

Here you go! A delicious and a different variety of rasam is ready to savor on!

I’m sure you’ll try it. Try it out at the earliest and let me know how it turns out to be.

 

See you soon.

Till then, Cheers!!!

 

Leave a Reply

