My Delicacy on a Tremendously funny Thursday – Jeera Rice and Dal Fry

DSC_0050Hey friends!! Hope all of you are doing awesome. I’m doing awesome as well as I’m able to keep up with my blogging goal these days. Hopefully I will continue keeping up with my blogging goal. WordPress has instilled in me the urge of fulfilling my blogging goal and I’m happy that I’m able to take small steps towards keeping pace. I’m keen on introducing as many new segments as possible and I’ve taken small steps towards reaching it by introducing photography, movie reviews, etc. As of today my segment is recipe. The thought of making it was sudden. Aamodh I surely owe this to you. If you weren’t making it today, I wouldn’t have made it though (as you know I’m reasonably lazy). As there were not many vegetables readily available at home to make anything else, the thought of making Jeera Rice accompanied by Dal Fry was spontaneous. You just need a handful of items. Both the items are very simple to make with just handful of ingredients. So let’s rush in and check out the recipes.

JEERA RICE

Ingredients

1 cup soaked rice (clean it and soak it for about 30 minutes)

2 tbsp Oil

1 tbsp ghee

1 tbsp Jeera (cumin seeds)

1 green chilli finely chopped

2-3 onions roughly chopped (small to medium-sized)

1 tbsp ginger garlic paste

1 bay leaf

12-15 Cashew nuts

1 inch Cinnamon Stick

Salt as per requirement

Water as per requirement (I used 2 ½ cups of water)

Method

o    Heat oil and ghee in a pan.

o    Add in the cumin seeds and let it crackle.

o    Add in the Cinnamon Stick

o    Add in the green chillies.

o    Add in the ginger garlic paste and fry till the raw smell fades.

o    Add in the bay leaf

o    Add the cashew nuts and fry till it turns golden brown.

o    Add the chopped onions and fry until golden brown.

o    Add in the rice and fry for a while.

o    Add water and salt and cook the same.

Note: I used electric cooker so the rice was automatically done.

DAL FRY

Ingredients

2 small-sized tomatoes finely chopped

2 small-sized onions finely chopped

1 cup toor dal (cooked and thoroughly mashed)

1 tbsp Kasuri Methi

1 tsp Garam Masala Powder

1 tsp Chilli Powder

1 tsp Turmeric Powder

Salt as per requirement

Water as per requirement (I used 1 ½ cups of water)

A pinch of Urad Dal

1 dried red chilli

1 tsp Jeera (Cumin Seeds)

1 green chilli finely chopped

½ tsp ginger garlic paste

2 tbsp Ghee

Method

o    Heat ghee in a pan

o    Add in urad dal, Jeera and dried chilli and fry

o    Add in the green chillies and ginger garlic paste and fry well

o    Add in the finely chopped onions and fry till golden brown

o    Add the finely chopped tomatoes and Kasuri Methi and fry well

o    Add in the garam masala, red chilli pwder and turmeric and fry well

o    Add in the mashed and cooked dal and pour in water slowly checking the consistency

o    Add salt as per taste

o    Bring it to boil. Remove from flame and add in ghee on top for flavor

Serve hot. This combination is something which is very famous. And when it is so easy to make, there shouldn’t be any reason why anybody wouldn’t or shouldn’t try it.

So rush in and treat yourselves to the delicacy. See you’ll soon.

 

Cheers!!!

2 thoughts on “My Delicacy on a Tremendously funny Thursday – Jeera Rice and Dal Fry

Leave a Reply

