Palak Paneer – My Delicacy on a Sumptuous Saturday

Hey friends! How have you’ll been? It’s been quite some time since I blogged. After reading two exciting books I got busy with other stuffs at my end. First of all I read those two books with so much of enthu continuously that I’d got into the bad books of my mom. So I was waiting for an opportunity to impress her. I chanced upon it yesterday, when she told me she intended to prepare Palak Paneer today. Bingo! I got it. I decided I’ll make it. It’s not the first time I’m making it, though. I remember having prepared it some years ago (although I don’t remember how many years ago). And you guys must have noticed that it’s been a while since I posted any recipes (that’s purely because I didn’t try out anything for these many days). This is the right time to post a recipe I feel, after 3 back to back book reviews. And as promised, this February, I’ll be on the blog time and again as it’s my blog’s First Birthday. I should make it special, right?

So, why the delay, let’s rush quickly and see how the delicious Palak Paneer is made and what goes into its making.


Ingredients

4 bunches of Spinach (blanched and cooled)
3 tomatoes (boiled and cooled)
3 onions (2 small ones and one big one) – roughly chopped
3 garlic flakes
1 ½ inch ginger piece
3 green chillies
1 tablespoon of Cumin Seeds
A pinch of sugar (it’s just added to make the spinach retain its green color)
Milky Mist Paneer (cut into small cubes)
2 teaspoons of turmeric
2 teaspoons of Garam Masala powder
Salt as per requirement
Oil (around 2 tablespoons)
2 teaspoons of Ghee
Method

First of all heat 2 teaspoons of ghee in a pan and add paneer cubes to it and fry (I fried it a little more than normal frying as I like paneer when it’s crispy). Remove from heat once the paneer attains a golden brownish color and keep aside.

Take one tablespoon of oil in a pan. Put in the cumin seeds and fry for a minute. Then add in ginger and garlic and fry for a while. Add in the coarsely chopped onions and fry until the onions become transparent. Remove from heat and let it cool. After it cools down, make a fine paste.

Puree the boiled tomatoes (just the tomatoes, do not add in water to it) and keep aside. Finally, make a fine paste of the blanched Spinach and green chillies. Now that you have everything ready, take one tablespoon of oil in a pan and add the onion paste to it. Fry it until it loses its raw odor. Then add in the tomato puree and fry until it boils. Then add in turmeric, garam masala powder and salt and mix well. Lastly add in the spinach paste and mix well. Add a pinch of sugar to it and boil. Remove from heat and add the paneer to it.

The yummy and delicious Palak Paneer is ready to relish on. Serve hot with rotis/rice depending on your choice.

I’m sure most of you will give it a try. Why not!! It’s simple and hardly takes 30 minutes in Toto. So rush and give it a try and relish it completely.

I will get back again – this time neither with a recipe nor with a review, but with something different. So look out for My Space.


Cheers!!!
4 thoughts on “Palak Paneer – My Delicacy on a Sumptuous Saturday

  1. When are you going to invite us for these tempting and delicious food!! everytime you post your recipe, I get motivated and move straight away towards kitchen to try my luck.. Now I think I cook well these days thanks to you.

Leave a Reply

