My Review on Chetan Bhagat’s “2 States – The Story of my Marriage”


Hey friends! Here I come with my first post of 2014. Hope you all had a great time welcoming the New Year. It’s already been a week since the day 1 of New Years. Everybody is quite concerned about how to keep the resolution going strong at least this year (may not be everyone, but some people like me are). So am I. So here I come to give a review to begin with. One of my resolutions (Oh yeah, I have many resolutions for the year) this year is to read as many books as possible. To keep my resolution alive I’ve read a book in just 2 days (it’s seriously a record for me). I’ve, hence, rushed here to give a review. This time the review is about, as you are already aware, Chetan Bhagat’s “2 States”. For some reason or so, I was very hesitant to take up this novel initially. This is because I’d read his previous ones “One Night at the Call Centre” and “Revolution 2020”. I wasn’t that much impressed about it, though I’ve heard his book “Five Point Someone” is awesome (haven’t read it but after seeing 3 idiots I feel the book would be awesome). For a while now I had been hearing reviews about 2 States too often. I got more positive reviews than negative ones which actually gave me the courage to go for the book. And this is the first Love Story I’ve ever read. So I didn’t want to be disappointed. Yeah, I must say I’m surely not disappointed. I’m happy I went for the book.


The name itself makes things very clear. It’s a love story. It’s about interstate love (the guy, a Punjabi and the girl, a Tamilian) and the hurdles accompanying it. It’s about love blossoming at the IIM-A campus. The way the story has been taken is simply awesome. It moves smoothly with the day to day college and campus life. After college, it moves slowly towards the work life and how the young lovers go about convincing their parents. There’s nothing like ‘a thrilling suspense’ and stuffs but the book is really gripping. You don’t feel like putting the book down unless you are done with it.

The book starts with the lovers’ first meet and slowly takes you through their first fight and subsequently their journey of love – the entire setting being the IIM-A. After the end of the course the story shifts from IIM-A to their respective houses and then to their work places. There are a bit of suspense sequences in between (I will not reveal about it, though). Then, their journey of convincing their parents about their relationship and its future begins. The journey doesn’t seem to be a bed of roses, though. Both of them put in a lot of efforts to convince both the set of parents.

Chetan Bhagat has narrated in a very humorous way. Certain portions are so funny that I’m sure you’ll laugh out loud. The story, keeping in mind its nature, is a very simple one. But the way it is taken about is too good. The author shows why it is important to win the hearts of parents before getting married to a person of your choice. He justifies while narrating the story why it is necessary to get married with the consent of both set of parents instead of eloping and getting married. The portion towards the end is really heart moving. The message the book imparts is worth reading for! I will not give out much as it might take the thrill of reading. 

A must read for people who enjoy every kind of book. A specially made book for people who enjoy love stories (I guess I will read more of it, as this being my first try at love stories has given me a positive feel).  So what’s basically stopping you from going ahead? Start your 2014’s second week with an awesome love story.

Enjoy every bit of it. See you’ll soon with something unique yet again!



Till then, Cheers!!!
Leave a Reply

