Chana Bathura – My Delicacy on a Sizzling Saturday

Hello friends! It’s been quite some time since I caught up! What’s up? We are into the last month of 2013. I’m sure most of you like me are literally into making the most of the year end. Let me share what I have been up to. With yesterday being a weekend and a ‘free’ weekend after a long time, I wanted to do something different. With my aunts being around at home, my mom had decided to make Chana Bhatura (popularly known as the Chole Bhatura). I decided to try my hand at it. I didn’t want to venture into the making of bhaturas as I wanted to do something easy! This time I had nothing to experiment about as the chana recipe was the tried and tested- my all time favorite – my mom’s recipe. The experiment this time was with respect to the quantity of the recipe.


Without wasting a minute, let’s just see what goes into the making of the same.


Ingredients
500 gms Chana Dal
4 onions (finely chopped)
2 tomatoes (finely chopped)
4-5 boiled mashed potatoes
Ginger – Garlic Paste (about 1 inch ginger and 4-5 Garlic Flakes)
1 Big Green Chilly
2 -3 tsps Chilly Powder
1 tsp turmeric powder
2 tsps Amchur Powder
Salt (as per requirement)
For the Dry Masala:
2 tbsp Jeera
2 tbsp Coriander Seeds
1 tbsp Peppercorns
8-9 Cloves
4 cardamoms
Method
Fry all the ingredients of the dry masala. Remove from flame and grind it in a mixer (it should be finely powdered).
In a cooker, heat oil. Fry onion till it becomes transparent. Add the ginger garlic paste, green chilly and fry it until the raw smell fades. Add the tomatoes, chilly powder, turmeric powder, amchur powder, the ground dry masala, boiled chana dal, nicely mashed potatoes and salt. Add just a little water (as per your requirement). Pressure cook the mixture with one whistle. Yummy delicious Chana is ready to serve. Garnish it with onions and coriander leaves. Serve it with bhaturas or any kind of rotis.
It serves about 10 people.

So, I guess many of you will try it because it is very simple. It doesn’t take much of your time as well. It’s a very easy recipe on a busy day as well.
See you all soon with a review.

Cheers!!!
2 thoughts on “Chana Bathura – My Delicacy on a Sizzling Saturday

Leave a Reply

