Tomato Soup – What a Challenging Saturday!

Hey friends! It feels good to sneak into my space soon. Being a Saturday, a holiday, what else can one ask for – A Perfect Day, Right? So was my day – A perfect one, when it began. After completing my routine stuffs I was just immersed in reading a book, when suddenly I felt like eating Tomato Soup. One bad habit I have is, if I feel like eating something I keep feeling restless until I eat it. So I decided to make it. The thrill of making the soup was my mom’s absence. She wasn’t at home and I just gave it a thought, what a surprise it would be for her when she is back. So I didn’t waste a single moment and went on to make a- so- called- delicious -tomato- soup (it turned out to be delicious). In the course of making the soup I had a splatter of Tomato Puree all over me (very common thing to happen with me whenever I make Tomato Soup). This is the second time I made tomato soup and I must mention that both the times I’ve had splatter of tomato puree over me because of the mixer (exactly due to not closing the mixer lid properly). It was a truly Challenging Saturday for me as I had to clean up the mess on myself as well as in the kitchen before my mom turned up!
Now let’s just have a sneak peek into what goes into the making of the tomato soup.

Ingredients

2 tomatoes (quartered)
1 carrot (diced)
1 onion (roughly chopped)
13-15 pepper corns
5 garlic cloves (roughly chopped)
1 tbsp butter (I used Nutrilite)
4 teaspoons of Corn flour mixed with water
About 1 – 2 cups water (as per our requirements based on the thickness we wish to bring in the soup)
Salt as per requirement
Method

Melt butter in a pan. Add garlic and pepper corns and fry for a minute. Then add onions and fry till it turns transparent. Then add in the diced carrot and tomatoes. Fry for a minute or so. Then add in 1 cup of water and salt, mix well, close the lid and let it boil for about 10 minutes. Then remove from flame and keep it aside. Let it cool completely.

After the mixture cools, grind it in a mixer and add the remaining water, if need be (but make sure you do not commit the mistake I committed, I know you guys are not foolish like me).

Strain the mixture, add corn flour mixture and bring it to boil. The delicious tomato soup is ready to relish.
You can top your soup with a teaspoon of butter and powdered peppercorns.
PS: To get a bright red colored tomato soup all you need to do is add a small piece of beetroot. However, as I didn’t have it readily available at home, I did not add it.
It’s very simple to make. So why back out! Just give it a try and you will surely like it.
I will get back with a review at the earliest.

Till then, Cheers!!!
Leave a Reply

