Dry Spicy Corn Masala – My Experiment on a Fantastic Friday

Hello friends! I’m back very soon- this time with an experiment. I had to put up this post yesterday itself, but just could not squeeze in due to time constraint. I had mentioned in one my previous posts that I happen to check out recipes on different pages, one such page being Archana’s Kitchen on Facebook – I found this recipe – Spicy Corn Sabzi for Chapathi/ Pulao right there. I wanted to try it at the earliest. So without even bothering about it being a week day I decided to try it out yesterday only. I’m happy to tell all of you that my experiment was a great success. Everyone at home just loved it. The recipe I saw on net was that of gravy, but I made a variation and made a Dry Spicy Corn Masala. I’m here to share the recipe with all of you.


Ingredients (Serves 4)

1 Sweet Corn (boiled)
1 cup Ground Nuts (Roasted and coarsely powdered)
2 Tomatoes (pureed without any extra water added)
1 inch Ginger (grated)
1 teaspoon Garam Masala Powder
1 teaspoon Cumin Seeds
1 teaspoon turmeric
A pinch of asafoetida (Hing)
½ teaspoon Red Chilly Powder
2 Green Chillies (finely chopped)
Oil (as per requirement)
Salt as per taste
Coriander Leaves (for garnishing)
Method
Heat oil in a pan. Add cumin seeds, grated ginger, asafoetida and the powdered groundnuts. Fry for a minute. Then add in the tomato puree, garam masala powder, turmeric, red chilly powder, green chillies and salt as per requirement and sauté until the mixture combines together well and begins to boil (boil in the sense, when you notice big bubbles- this being a dry sabzi). Add in the boiled sweet corn and mix well. About 8- 10 minutes of cooking is required for the sweet corn to combine with the masala well.
The chatpati Dry Spicy Corn Masala is ready to serve.
Garnish with fresh Coriander Leaves and serve with Chapathi.
Total preparation time is about 30 minutes (a very ideal cooking time on a busy weekday).
It can be served along with Chapathi and Pulao. You can also eat it plain like a chat on a rainy evening with lemon sprinkled on it! If you like it spicier you can anytime increase the quantity of ginger, red chilly powder and green chillies.
So I hope you will all try this easy to make dish and get back with the results and any variations you would prefer.Why wait! Rush in and try it out.

See you soon with something interesting as always.

Till then, Cheers!!!
4 thoughts on “Dry Spicy Corn Masala – My Experiment on a Fantastic Friday

Leave a Reply

